Policy Engagements and Blogs

Board Announcement – 26th March 2024

March 26, 2024

Yamini Aiyar, President, and Chief Executive of the Centre for Policy Research will step down from her current role as of 31st March 2024 to devote more time to her research interests.

The Board expresses its appreciation for her excellent and significant contribution to CPR’s tradition of engaged multidisciplinary scholarship and for the energy, commitment, and sense of purpose she brought to her role during her tenure. We wish her the very best in her future endeavours.

The Board also welcomes Dr Srinivas Chokkakula, Senior Fellow CPR and Ministry of Jal Shakti Research Chair, as the President and Chief Executive. He will step into the role effective 1st April 2024.

Dr Chokkakula, a political geographer, engineer, and town planner, currently leads the TREADS (Transboundary Rivers, Ecologies and Development Studies) initiative at CPR and is a recognized authority on water policy, a research area of established provenance at CPR. He has been with CPR since 2010.

Srinivas has worked with SRISTI and Ahmedabad’s celebrated Honey-Bee Grassroots Innovation Network. He played a key role with the Environmental Planning Collaborative, Ahmedabad, in the reconstruction of Kachchh after the earthquake of 2001. He has been a Chevening Scholar, a post-doctoral fellow at SOAS University of London, and a Fulbright-Nehru Visiting Chair at the School of Public Policy, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

For any queries, please contact:
Partha Mukhopadhyay: partha@cprindia.org
Hemali Sodhi: hemali@cprindia.org